Dreams

I was reading through the book of Daniel for the last few weeks (yes, it took me awhile!) and Daniel had some CRAZY dreams! In Daniel 8, after his dream of a ram & a goat & after the interpretation of it, this is what was said in verse 27: “I, Daniel, was exhausted and lay ill for several days. Then I got up and went about the king’s business. I was appalled by the vision; it was beyond understanding.” Also, in Daniel 7:15, he says: “I, Daniel, was troubled in spirit, and the visions that passed through my mind disturbed me.” and in verse 28: “This is the end of the matter. I, Daniel, was deeply troubled by my thoughts, and my face turned pale, but I kept the matter to myself.

Why am I saying all this? Because I feel a little like Daniel sometimes. Let me tell you why. I’ve always been one to have some crazy, wacky dreams. Now, they intensified when I was pregnant, but they are still pretty crazy when I’m not. A lot of the times these dreams are scary and I wake up thinking they are so real & many times will lay there crying. After getting married, my husband has been there for me in the middle of the night many times praying for me & holding me. He is such a comfort. But, back to the point. Since I am so sensitive to having these dreams, I have to be careful what I watch, read, or listen to sometimes. I think that God wants to use me by giving me HIS dreams, and I want my head to be clear of all evil so I can think on him & his goodness even while sleeping.

This past week, I posted about finding forgiveness & gaining a new mindset from God. It has been amazing to see how I react differently & how God has really changed me. But guess who’s NOT happy with that? You guessed it. The devil himself. So I think he was so upset that I had given my mind to God during the waking hours of the day that he decided to try to take back the nighttime hours. I hadn’t had really bad dreams for awhile, but last week I had 2 horrible realistic dreams concerning my children. (He knows right what to go for, doesn’t he?!) The only thing he wasn’t remembering was that while I am awake I react differently now. Instead of getting upset & dwelling on the dreams, I quoted 2 Timothy 1:7: For God has not given us a spirit of timidity (fear), but of power and love and discipline (sound mind).” (parantheses mine). And the 2nd night it happened I quoted Philippians 4:8: ” Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.I reacted differently! Isn’t it amazing how the power of God can change a person?

Since the night of the 2nd dream, Chris & I have been praying before we go to bed that God not only keeps my mind pure & away from bad dreams, but that I have godly dreams as well. I would love for God to speak to me at night as well as during the day.

Daniel was troubled & scared, and so was I. But we both “got up & went about the king’s business”. The devil isn’t going to get the best of me… day or night!

3 responses to “Dreams

  1. Great post, Babe! God will give you great dreams! This must be why you love sleeping so much! 🙂

  2. P.J.

    Powerful. Always heard it said that you could identify an authentic encounter with God based on the life change. True invasions of God’s spirit within us leave our lives altered. As you brilliantly illustrated: our situations may not change and perhaps might worsen due to attack but our response will most definitely be different! Great blog!

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on common verses « Ruth’s Reflections

Leave a Reply

