(Super) Natural Parenting

If you know me, you know I talk about a way of parenting called “Attachment Parenting” or “Natural Parenting”.  Although we follow most of what is associated with this type of parenting, my husband has put into words (and I agree) that we don’t really like the term.  We also don’t think we are perfect (far from it!) or have all the answers (yeah… right).  We do know that the way we parent is what works best for us & we want everyone to experience the joy, the connectedness, and the love that we experience by raising our kids the way we do.

However, this post is not about that. Well, not entirely. I was reading Jude today (yeah, there’s only one chapter) and Jude is warning people about godless men who have snuck into their presence & are trying to pretend to be like them. Only… I could see myself as being like one of these men (or women?) Jude was describing.  In verse 16, Jude says, “These men are grumblers and fault-finders; they follow their own evil desires; they boast about themselves and flatter others for their own advantage.” Yikes! I don’t know about you, but I’ve found myself guilty of each of those descriptions before, and even recently. Verse 19 says, “These are the men who divide you, who follow mere natural instincts and do not have the Spirit.” Did you catch that? They follow mere natural instincts.

Now, I know Jude is definitely not talking specifically about parenting here. But it just reminds me about the way Chris & I parent our 2 kids. If I can relate to the horrible descriptions of those evil men, and at the same time say I’m following my natural instincts to parent, I think I may have a problem. I can’t just follow my instincts. I’ll surely fail. What do I do about this?  Glad you asked. Verse 20 goes on to say, “But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit.” I can’t just parent naturally. I have to parent supernaturally. I have to live & parent & do everything I do by praying & walking in the Holy Spirit. I am not able to do anything good on my own. Ask Sam. He knows when I’ve tried. I’m sure if he could explain it to you, he’d tell you that when I am praying & walking in the Holy Spirit I’m a much better mom.

Those were some thoughts for you today.  Are you doing what comes naturally, or are you praying in the Holy Spirit so that you can do what comes supernaturally?

6 responses to “(Super) Natural Parenting

  1. Wow! You really said it! I’m glad we do this together. Thank you, Jesus! Love you, Rudy!

  2. erinleigh

    well put. i’m guilty of this more times than i care to admit, in all those areas of my life that i’m “naturally talented.” HA! i fail miserably every time i try and take back those talents of mine from the one who gave them to me.

  3. Kim

    Thanks! That was exactly what I needed today!

  4. Aunt Linda B

    Hello there dear niece. I think what you and Chris have as a family unit and your extended family unit is one close to the heart of God.

    Praying for you is one of the privileges I have as a Christian and a joy as one of your family. Aunt Linda B

  5. E.X.A.C.T.L.Y!

    What a way to put it that really adds perspective! I’m a ‘crunchy’ mom, too, and I’m glad to know that the term for what I’m really reaching for is Supernatural parenting. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

