A Challenge

My son, Samuel, challenges me daily. Usually multiple times in a day. He challenges me to be more patient, more kind, more loving, more playful, but most of all more like Christ.  However, I want to challenge you with something he does.

Samuel is great at learning songs & words from movies. He randomly says lines from movies & I only know what in the world he’s talking about because I’ve seen the movies 20 times myself.  However a few weeks ago he came home from church one day with a little paper heart that said, “Trust in the Lord with all my heart. Proverbs 3:5” on it. I decided that since he could memorize songs & lines from movies there shouldn’t be any reason he couldn’t memorize a verse with a little help. It only took a couple of times and now any time you ask him what his memory verse is he says, “Trust in the Ward (Lord) wif all my heart” while making motions pointing to his head, then to his chest.

I took it a step further last week when one of his teachers at church said there was a new verse. He now knows his “second verse” – “Praise God for he is good” and nods his little head on the word “good”. Sorry I don’t remember the exact verse but it’s throughout the Bible & this one was referring to a verse in a psalm.

Basically, my challenge is this. If Samuel can memorize God’s word, you can too. Take a verse at a time, whatever you feel like you can do. Make motions, make up a song, but most of all let it sink in.

When Sam reaches for the Bible, I ask him to read it or ask what it says & he says, “Trust in the Ward wif all my heart” and smiles his huge smile. And yes, I do have a proud mommy moment. This is what it’s all about.

3 responses to “A Challenge

  1. Thanks for the challenge, Rudy (and Sam). I love you!

  2. this is awesome!!! i love sam! i’m so proud of him!

  3. what a great challenge. Ruth, I love to read what you write. You take every day situations and turn them into powerful challenges and illustrations!

Leave a Reply

