Decisions, Decisions

I’ve really been challenged lately by Pastor Chilly & by the Holy Spirit’s prompting to not just ask God to bless what I’m doing, but to ask Him what He wants me to do, and then I know I’ll be in His blessing already. To find His will for not only my life (how selfish!) but for the lives of those around me & to go there & do what He asks. To be His servant.

Matthew 7:21-23 talks about those who think they are saved because they DO stuff in the name of God. They’ve fooled others into thinking they are Christians & even have big Christian organizations sponsoring them. But have they truly asked God what HE wants them to be doing (some have; this is not to bash anyone. Please hear me out & keep reading!)?

I can see it now–at the Final Judgment thousands strutting up to me and saying, “Master, we preached the Message, we bashed the demons, our God-sponsored projects had everyone talking.” And do you know what I’m going to say? “You missed the boat. All you did was use me to make yourselves important. You don’t impress me one bit. You’re out of here.” – Matthew 7:22-23, MSG

I don’t mean to make this post about other ministries or whatever. It kinda started turning in that direction but what I mean to say is… I find myself doing this from time to time. When it comes to big decisions I ask God what He wants. But what about the everyday things? Do I ask Him where He wants me to go that day? Who He wants me to talk to? What Bible stories I should read to my kids? What exact words of encouragement my husband needs to hear? I hesitate to ask Him sometimes because I just simply don’t think of it. But sometimes it’s because I am afraid I’ll have to change my plans, however foolish that may be. I need to remember, however, that no matter how good or fun I think MY plans are (whether big or small), God’s plans are always better. How much more would God be able to do through me if I am exactly where He wants me to be? Boy, do I have a long way to go.

What about you? Do you ask God what He wants from you only when faced with a big decision? What about daily decisions? Does it scare you to think He may change your plans? Are you up to the challenge to ask God to direct you in your daily decisions? I am. Let’s do this!

One response to “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Yeah, I sometimes find it easier to TRUST Him in the BIG things, too,
    but not as much in the Little Things!

Leave a Reply

