Crying the blues

Once again, I’m loving The Message’s interpretation of the Bible.

While reading Psalm 42 today I came across a familiar verse, but this time I read it in The Message version:

Why are you down in the dumps, dear soul? Why are you crying the blues? Fix my eyes on God – soon I’ll be praising again. He puts a smile on my face. He’s my God. – Psalm 42:5

Wow. God’s just been amazing me lately. Later on, in verses 6-8, David talks about how when he’s down in the dumps, he just recalls what God has done & what he knows about God. Sure, his situation may not change, but he remembers God’s faithfulness & who he is, and he realizes he no longer needs to be crying the blues.

Fix my eyes on God. Soon I’ll be praising again. Yeah, I need to remember to do that. There’s a lot to praise God for. My previous post alone is proof of that. God is good. He’s my God. And he is (or can be) yours too.

4 responses to “Crying the blues

  1. mohan37

    haha…the Message does have a way with words 🙂

  2. Not sure why it seems so much easier to “cry the blues” than to think on the good things of God and be thankful and rejoice. Must be the same reason that although it takes more muscles to frown than to smile, frowning seems easier. BUT what’s neat about both is that when we choose to fix our eyes on God focusing on everything that is right and put that smile on our face (complements of God) our perspective changes drastically!

    Great insight, Ruth!

  3. Francy Zagar

    HE puts the smile on my face! Love it (and you 😉 )

Leave a Reply

