Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village

Well, our friend, Sue, got us into Greenfield Village & The Henry Ford Museum today. We’ve lived in Hamtramck for 9 months now (what?! That long?!) and we hadn’t ever been there yet. We got to ride the train around GFV and Sam at one point looked up & said, “We’re riding a TRAIN!” I think he liked it. 🙂

He wasn’t all that thrilled with GFV but when we went into the museum, he was excited. We got to climb into a train to sit in the seat & pull all the levers. Then we looked at more trains, saw some cars, motorcycles, airplanes, rvs, etc. Sam got to make a paper airplane, color, and look around the gift shop. I went by myself with both kids, and they were really well-behaved! It was such a nice time.

When were back in the car, I asked Sam what his favorite part was. He said, “Eating the cookie!” That was the only thing I spent money on while we were there. And that’s also the thing he remembered the most. Ha!

Well, I’m not sure if he really thought it was the best part, but here are a few pics to show you the things I thought were some of the highlights:

Test-driving cars (that other people made… Daddy wasn’t there to help build any and I didn’t know how to do it!)

samtestingcars

I wanted him to sit next to the crash test dummy but he was scared of him. He said, “I don’t want him to touch me!” I told him I just wanted a picture so I set him on there. I even accidentally caught Sam’s foot between the bench & “the guy’s” leg. Oops! I’m surprised I got a smile!

samcrashtestdummy

Then last but certainly not least, Samuel got to pretend to be a hotdog. I really think this was what he liked the best (well, maybe) because he had to do it twice. I thought he was adorable, especially because he acted like he was taking a nap!

Samhotdog

Well, that’s all for today. I had a great time. So, thank you, Sue!!! And thank you, God, for the beautiful day!

2 responses to “Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village

  1. pattyparker

    looks like fun!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed the village and Henry Ford! GFV is a lot of fun when they are doing a theme, or an event. We went when Thomas the Tank was about to come and the place was going crazy!

Leave a Reply

