Are you weary?

weary

I feel like I get weary a lot. Well, maybe not a lot but enough to say I get weary. But what makes me weary? Sometimes it’s cuz I take a long walk when I’m already tired or have walked earlier in the day. A lot of the times it’s cuz I stay up too late (doing nothing beneficial) and then my kids “don’t let me sleep in”. Sometimes it’s when I’m doing something in my own power & strength instead of relying on God.

“Yet you have not called upon me, O Jacob, you have not wearied yourselves for me, O Israel. You have not brought me sheep for burnt offerings, nor honored me with your sacrifices. I have not burdened you with grain offerings nor wearied you with demands for incense. You have not bought any fragrant calamus for me, or lavished on me the fat of your sacrifices. But you have burdened me with your sins and wearied me with your offenses.” – Isaiah 43:22-24

Another version says, “…you have become weary of me…” and yet another, “…you have become tired of me…”

God is reminding Israel how awesome he is, then goes on to remind them how they’ve treated him. They have become weary, or tired of, God instead of wearying themselves for God. They’ve even burdened God & wearied him with their sins. If I’m going to be weary, it should be for the work of God’s kingdom. If not, something is off. I shouldn’t be weary because of what God is doing. I definitely should not be tired of what he is doing or who he is!

So next time I’m weary I need to ask myself why, and if the answer isn’t “for the glory of God” then I need to re-evaluate what I’m doing & shift my focus. Do you get weary a lot? Why? Is it for God, for real? Or are you focusing too much on yourself, wearying God in the process? Hmmm…

3 responses to “Are you weary?

  1. Really good post. Thanks for this. We can become weary and trust Him to renew us if we weary ourselves for Him.

  2. ireid

    Great post – really like the Scripture. It was a good reminder. But even cuter picture of Addi. I know this has nothing to do with the post – but I’m so grateful that we get to be a part of your kids’ lives (and you and Chris’ lives). Thanks for letting us in 2 years ago – when you told us you guys were pregnant with your second child! Ha! That was so cool. Now look where we’re all at together! God is so good to us.

  3. cool i liked this post too!

Leave a Reply

