Memorizing Scripture

Memorizing verses from the Bible is an important part of a relationship with Jesus. I haven’t been the most consistent (honestly for many years of my life), but that is something I’m getting back to doing. I don’t just want to do this, I NEED to do it. I need to “hide God’s word in my heart so I don’t sin against him” (Psalm 119:11). So here are the ones I’m working on currently, or have just memorized & I’m working on keeping them memorized:

Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance, with divine retribution he will come to save you. – Isaiah 35:3-4

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. – Ephesians 4:22-24

I encourage & challenge you to start memorizing verses if you haven’t been, and if you have been, keep it up! We can hold each other accountable if you’d like. Just leave me a comment of what verse or verses you’re working on & we can regularly remind each other to be faithful in hiding God’s word in our hearts!

Leave a Reply

