Just a little word study

So I was reading 1 Corinthians 2 today. The very last verse (16) says, “‘For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?’ But we have the mind of Christ.”

Lately I’ve been dealing with some anger issues, and these anger issues start in my mind. Like, “Well, I deserve better than this!” And, “This isn’t FAIR!” Which, obviously, is prideful & selfish. Now, I’ve heard feelings are neither right nor wrong, but I still don’t like the initial feeling of anger, whether or not it’s correct. And I usually act out in anger before I think, which is blatantly a sin. I want to not be angry, selfish, prideful, but to be like Christ & immediately give up my rights. SOOOO much easier said than done, right?

Well, so when I saw this verse, “…But we have the mind of Christ.” I wanted to look up exactly what that means. To do that, I consulted my favorite online Bible study tool & looked up the original Greek. Let me break it down for you:

“For who has known…” Known = to come to know, to perceive, have knowledge of, to become acquainted with.

“…the mind…” Mind = a particular mode of thinking and judging, i.e thoughts, feelings, purposes, desire; the power of considering and judging soberly, calmly and impartially.

“…of the Lord…” Lord = master, owner, title of honor that expresses respect & reverence.

“…that he will instruct him?” Instruct = to join or put together, to compare, conclude, to come to the same conclusion or opinion.

“…But we have…” Have = to possess, to be closely joined to a person or a thing.

“…the mind of Christ.” Mind = same word for “mind” above. Christ = anointed Son of God; Messiah.

Okay so to get some history on it, the quote Paul used was from Isaiah 40:13a. The background of those verses is that Isaiah is prophesying to Israel, encouraging them by saying basically NO ONE can compare to God! No one has understood him, can think like him, can create the things he created, do the stuff he did, etc.

But then how do we have this mind of Christ now? Simple! Because of Christ. No one could have the access we have before Christ came. No one could even start to perceive like him. But because Jesus came, died, rose again, and sent his Holy Spirit to literally dwell in us & guide us, we have the mind of Christ. We are now closely joined together to have the same feelings, purposes, & desires of Christ. Because of this I can judge soberly, calmly, and impartially. This is quite the opposite of anger.

I could go on & on about why I think that verse was there in context with the other verses in the chapter in 1 Corinthians 2, but this is way longer than I originally planned already. Ha! Hope you enjoyed my little break down of verses. If you have a relationship with God, walk confidently that you have the mind of Christ!

One response to “Just a little word study

  1. thanks! that was great. I can so relate to the anger thing.

Leave a Reply

