He’s still working on me

God is doing amazing things in my life. I had a mindset, lies I believed to be true, a lifestyle I lived by… and it has all changed. This isn’t something small, people. It’s something huge. I need to call it sin, even though I don’t want to call it that. Doesn’t matter. Whatever excuses I try to make, no matter who I try to blame, it was my sin & I’m owning up to it. And because I’ve done that, & acted upon it, I am being set FREE! I cannot explain it. I have so much joy, so much peace, so much freedom, so much JESUS! I want to share it with the world, but I also feel like I need to be specific in who I share it with & at which particular moments as God leads.

Which brings me to this point: I want to bask in this victory, take a break & enjoy it, etc. That may be all good & fine except… I have to keep moving forward. I can’t “just” bask in it. I have to let God who began a good work in me carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus (Phil. 1:6). I need to let God “move on to the next thing” in my life & not take a break from Him changing me to be the person I need to be. I feel such relief that I’ve given this (huge) area over to God… but I can’t quit there. I must “run in such a way as to get the prize” (1 Cor. 9:24b). He has so much more to do in me & through me, and I’m excited!!

  • What has God recently done in your life?
  • Is it easy to just “stay there” & enjoy it, talking & thinking about how great it is?
  • What do you think God is trying to work on in your life right now if you will continue in the race instead of taking a water break?
  • Take some time to thank God, share with others about what he’s doing, then continue to run the race!

He’s still working on me!!

2 responses to “He’s still working on me

  1. mo

    God’s helped me to be patient lately, with all the house stuff swirling around. it’s definitely important to keep moving forward and not just sit still. like that Israel song đŸ™‚ God’s still working on patience with me, and discipline. easy to get undisciplined if you feel like you’re waiting around for something to happen.

  2. Pattie Parker

    A day or so ago God used a scripture I’d read many times before: 2 Tim. 5:1-9 The whole section around those verses was particularly good, but here are the main things I got out of it. There are so many times I feel like, “what’s wrong with me?” I feel odd, and weird, and just “not right.” But here it is: we are in our earthly “tent” here on earth, in these bodies, Paul equates it to being naked. We groan here and are burdened because we don’t want to be unclothed. It is our being absent from the Lord, who is preparing a mansion for us, and our heavenly garments and our new bodies. Like when you’re away from home, and you’re enjoying your time away, but you start just wanting to go HOME, and when you get in the door it’s like “sigh, I’m home.” Multiply that by heavenly numbers and imagine what our final homecoming will be like! And feel rest assured that when you are feeling out of sorts, a little strange, discontent, hurting, that it is our groaning to be with Him.

Leave a Reply

