Lessons from my kids

My kids have been teaching me a lot. Well, more like God is teaching me through my kids. I’ve been frustrated with a lot lately; mostly with how I react, rather than respond, and get louder than I should when correcting my children (I’m being honest). I also haven’t been spending all the time with God that I need to be spending, which in turn leads to less of Him, more of me, and disobedience on my part (yikes! Why am I telling you all this?!). But here’s the thing… How can I expect my kids not to raise their voices if I raise mine? How can I expect them to obey me and Chris if I don’t obey my Father (whether they actually know it or not)? We have a crazy responsibility of raising our children to love God and fully know His love. I am thanking God for his grace – that it is new EVERY morning (and afternoon, and evening, and…). It is only by spending time cultivating my relationship with God that I will ever change, and be able to see my children change & know Him too. It’s a constant learning and growing process, and I’m glad He loves me enough to not give up on me!

Other lessons my kids teach me daily… To smile, to laugh, to enjoy life, to be creative, to be quick to forgive, to trust even though they’ve experienced hurt, and to love with everything they have. I am so tremendously blessed!

What lessons do you learn from your kids (or kids around you)?

6 responses to “Lessons from my kids

  1. mo

    It’s good to say stuff like that. We all could be more transparent.

    I’ve learned that you can really hurt someone when you let them down. Kids don’t try to hide that hurt like adults sometimes do.

    • ruthchowdhury

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      Yeah, that’s such a hard truth. It hurts so bad to see hurt on my kids’ faces. Makes me sick to my stomach just thinking about it. God’s still working on us all!

  2. You are the best mom!!! I’ll be joining the ranks of parenthood soon but what I’ve learned from the kids I am around is that sense of wonder. I remember putting a child to bed one night and him telling me that “tomorrow is the best day of my life!!!” So many of us dread the next day. What if we looked at with wonder and anticipated the best day of our life.

  3. Jess

    so good! we teach what we know, but we reproduce who we are. i love you!

  4. Good reminder! Thanks for being transparent!

    I love you and I’m looking forward to spending more time with you!!!

Leave a Reply

