My wonderful kids

Lately my kids have been saying some pretty awesome stuff.

The other day Addison (4) was praying & she asked what to pray for. I told her to pray for other kids who don’t have a lot. I figured she’d pray for them to “get stuff”. Here’s what her prayer was: “Jesus, I pray for the kids who don’t have anything, and that we’d share our stuff with them.” Uh. Yeah. That’s where it’s at, people. Truth.

Yesterday the kids & I put on the armor of God together. We went through each piece of armor in Ephesians 6, acting like we were putting it on. Sam wanted to “pretend fight” the devil & I said, “Oh don’t worry. We’ll have plenty of opportunities to use our armor today. Like when you are tempted to be mean to your brother & sister, or tempted to disobey…” and he said, “But I already disobeyed.” I asked him what and he said he had the idea to hide a toy from me he wasn’t allowed to play with so I wouldn’t know he was playing with it. I said, “Oh ok… But do you know what you just did? You used the belt of truth!” and slapped him a high five. Then I said, “And you know what you can do? You can fix it by going & putting it away.” And he grinned really big, said okay, and ran to do it. It was such a blessing to see the truth of God’s Word convict & change my little boy’s heart.

Another day last week we were listening to a Rend Collective song & one of the lines is “You are my Father, and I’m your true son…” And Sam says, “Yep, I’M his true son!” I love that he knows that already.

And one that’s not spiritual, um, at all… Micah has picked up a phrase from somewhere. I don’t know where (okay, someone… confess! Who taught him?!). Anyway, whenever I tell him to do something like put away a toy he says, “No! Stink bug.” And calls me a stink bug!! We never use this phrase & Sam said he doesn’t know where it’s from. It is actually hilarious & he never uses it when he’s truly mad; just when he knows I am serious & need to laugh. Goober.

I am sure there are many more, but those are the few I wanted to capture lately. I am really enjoying my kids lately & find myself stepping back & staring at them, the faces they make, the way they talk, the funny quirks they have, and just being so thankful. I am so blessed!

2 responses to “My wonderful kids

  1. I love this post! I love our kids!

  2. I wish I could take the blame for the stink bug .. maybe I’ll have something fun to teach him when we come visit.

Leave a Reply

